Lee’s new novel, Guests on Earth was published in October, 2013 by Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill.

Click to hear Lee Smith read a portion of The Last Girls.

Click Here for information on Barbara Bates Smith's new one-woman show On Agate Hill. Read the review or check out her schedule.


  • Fellowship of Southern Writers Member

  • Lifetime Literary Achievement Award from State of Virginia, 2010

  • Thomas Wolfe Award, 2010

  • North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame, 2009

  • Southern Book Critics Circle Award, 2002 for The Last Girls

  • Academy Award in Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, 1999

  • Lila Wallace/Readers Digest Award, 1995 - 1997

  • Robert Penn Warren Prize for Fiction, 1991

  • Weatherford Award for Appalachian Literature, 1988

  • North Carolina Award for Literature, 1984

  • Sir Walter Raleigh Award for Oral History, 1983 and Fair and Tender Ladies, 1989

  • O. Henry Awards, 1979 and 1981